Derby KS Homepage

Neighbor & Neighborhood Award Program

Neighbor and Neighborhood of the year icon

Derby’s neighborhoods deserve to be celebrated! The City is proud to continue in 2023 the annual Neighborhood of the Year and Neighbor of the Year award programs launched in 2021 to highlight and recognize work being done by neighborhood leaders and residents.

Neighbor of the Year: Most of us know someone who goes the “extra mile” to make their neighborhood a better place - maybe a neighbor who always shows up to help with neighborhood activities, a person who has devoted time and talent in service to their neighbors, neighborhood and community, or someone who makes sure everyone feels included.

  • 2023 Neighbor of the Year award recipient: Mike Moore
  • 2022 Neighbor of the Year award recipient: Alice Kaul
  • 2021 Neighbor of the Year award recipient Melvin Robinson

Neighborhood of the Year: A neighborhood may be nominated for this award based on its projects or activities that create physical or social improvements to the neighborhood, build or enhance neighborhood cohesion, or improve the ability of a neighborhood organization to better serve its community.

  • 2023 Neighborhood of the Year award recipient: Springcreek Homeowners Association
  • 2022 Neighborhood of the Year award recipient: Courtyards at the Oaks Homeowners Association
  • 2021 Neighborhood of the Year award recipient: Hamilton Estates Homeowners Association

Any resident-led neighborhood or resident of Derby can be nominated for these awards. A panel of judges will determine the winners. Each honoree will receive an award certificate, have their name added to a plaque in City Hall, and have the Mayor and/or City Council member(s) attend an event held by their neighborhood.

Any projects or activities carried out on or before September 2024, can be nominated. Nomination forms:

The nomination deadline is September 2024.

Government Websites by CivicPlus®
Arrow Left Arrow Right
Slideshow Left Arrow Slideshow Right Arrow